Realbeer.com
 
Aug 01, 2014

News

All malt, no gluten

Finnish brewery says it has a choice for those with celiac disease

Oct 7, 2005 - A Finnish brewery has announced it made the made the world's first malt beer that does not contain gluten. Millions around the world cannot drink beer because they are allergic to gluten.

ADVERTISEMENT

The Laitilan Brewery issued a press release stating, "Until recently, real beers have been prohibited from celiac (gluten-intolerant) patients' diet ... Today they are allowed to enjoy the full-malt Kukko Pils beer from Laitilan brewery." the company said in a statement.

It calls Kukko Pils "the world's first ever full-malt beer brand to receive the international gluten-free product trademark." Other breweries have produced Gluten-free beers using spelt as a substitute for barley.

Gluten intolerance, or celiac disease, is a chronic nutritional disturbance caused by the inability to metabolize gluten, which is found in all wheat, rye, barley and oat products.

Obtaining the gluten-free product trademark "opens up new sales channels abroad," Laitilan managing director Rami Aarikka said in the statement, pointing out that as many as one percent of Europeans and Americans suffer from celiac disease.


Search The Real Beer Library For More Articles Related To: FINLAND

Search
Find whatever in the beer world you are looking for. Enter a search word or phrase, then click GO.

ADVERTISEMENT